2014: My year in books

Last year, I became friends with a guy who also enjoys reading. He introduced me to Goodreads which is a social cataloging website for booklovers. So I created an account and I participated in the yearly reading challenge. I resolved to read 25 books for 2014. Here’s the list of books that I’ve read (in the order that I read them):

  1. Prince of Thorns (Mark Lawrence)
  2. King of Thorns (Mark Lawrence)
  3. The Summer Tree (Guy Gavriel Kay)
  4. The Orphan Master’s Son (Adam Johnson)
  5. Pride and Prejudice (Jane Austen)
  6. Northanger Abbey (Jane Austen)
  7. The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency (Alexander McCall Smith)
  8. Tears of the Giraffe (Alexander McCall Smith)
  9. Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell (Susanna Clarke)
  10. Kafka on the Shore (Haruki Murakami)
  11. Emperor of Thorns (Mark Lawrence)
  12. Strange Tales (Rudyard Kipling)
  13. Till We Have Faces (C.S. Lewis)
  14. Abstract City (Christoph Niemann)
  15. 100 Years From Now (Steve Murrell)
  16. The Next Generation Leader (Andy Stanley)
  17. The Wandering Fire (Guy Gavriel Kay)
  18. The Darkest Road (Guy Gavriel Kay)
  19. The Great Gatsby (F.Scott Fitzgerald)

As you can see, I only listed 19 books. I have actually read 25 (perhaps a little more) but I didn’t include the others because I didn’t own a copy of those books.

My favorites from among those I read last year would be:

  • The Orphan Master’s Son (Adam Johnson)
  • Till We Have Faces (C.S. Lewis)
  • The Great Gatsby (F.Scott Fitzgerald)

For this year, I am challenging myself to read fifty books. That would be like four books a month or a book every week. And to start the year, I am reading William Shakespeare’s Hamlet. So, here’s to another year of reading!

One comment

  1. jadagordon95 · January 4, 2015

    Reblogged this on Jada Gordon Creations.

Leave a Reply

