2015: My year in books

Here’s the list of books that I’ve read for 2015 (in the order that I read them):

  1. Hamlet (William Shakespeare)
  2. Mistborn (Brandon Sanderson)
  3. The Well of Ascension (Brandon Sanderson)
  4. The Hero of Ages (Brandon Sanderson)
  5. The Way of Kings (Brandon Sanderson)
  6. Words of Radiance (Brandon Sanderson)
  7. Clariel (Garth Nix)
  8. Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage (Haruki Murakami)
  9. The Eye of the World (Robert Jordan)
  10. The Great Hunt (Robert Jordan)
  11. The Dragon Reborn (Robert Jordan)
  12. Tales From Earthsea (Ursula K. Le Guin)
  13. Einstein’s Dreams (Alan Lightman)
  14. Titus Groan (Mervyn Peake)
  15. Gulp (Mary Roach)

I resolved to read fifty books for 2015 but I never got close to reading even half of it. I put the blame on Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series. I knew (from reviews) they were bad but I gave it a try just so I could read those that Brandon Sanderson wrote. In the end, I read up to the third book only because the books were really bad (it was a LOTR-wannabe, with neurotic characters and unnecessary plot twists). All the reading exhausted me so I decided to take a break. That, and then one of my other hobbies, drawing, began to occupy me instead.

Some months after that, I picked up Mervyn Peake’s Titus Groan. It was beautiful, no doubt, but it was also weighty. Reading it was akin to plodding through the tortuous passages within Gormeghast itself. It was only a few weeks ago that I actually managed to finish it.

Anyhow, my favorites from among those I read would be:

  • Mistborn (Brandon Sanderson)
  • The Hero of Ages (Brandon Sanderson)
  • The Way of Kings (Brandon Sanderson)
  • Words of Radiance (Brandon Sanderson)

This year, I am once again taking the challenge of reading fifty books. Huzzah! I do hope I will be able to accomplish it or at least come close.

Leave a Reply

